Blog Details

We are a 2 star hotel with rooms situated throughout 4 floors. The hotel has no lift due to the grade 2 listed building status meaning we can't make alterations to install one. We will of course, help with luggage though.

Our food is traditional and cooked using fresh produce of fish, meats, vegetables & dairy sourced from Scilly & Cornwall where possible. Our style is not nouvelle cuisine or a fancy Michelin Star type restaurant.

Our experienced staff offer excellent & attentive service, far beyond the normal expectations for a 2 star rated hotel

Our swimming pool is 8 metres x 4 metres and so neither small, or Olympic size! An unusual extra facility compared to even many other hotels. Its size is governed by available space, and is covered in and heated.

Our rooms are comfortable & furnished to the same standard. All are en suite with either bath, shower or both, and some are compact, hence the special offer lower tariff for these.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Hugh Town, at the quieter side and is ideally positioned for easy access to the harbour for inter island boats to the inhabited islands of Tresco, Bryher, St Agnes & St Martins.

I try to post regular photographs of the islands, and you can see more of the hotel in the photo galleries on the right hand side of the page.

If you would like to contact us please feel free to email or telephone:
bellrock.hotel@btclick.com Tel. 01720 422575

Saturday, 25 September 2010

Guest Review Extracted from TripAdvisor

“Dont stay in Room 21”
Bell Rock Hotel

katha53 7 contributions cheshire
23 Sep 2010 | Trip type: Couples

I felt our stay at this hotel was not perhaps the same experience that other people had.
We unfortunately were allocated room 21 in this hotel, which is right by the front door, reception and across the corridor from the albeit closed door of the bar.

It was raining on the day of our arrival and everybody who came in through the front door let it go and then vigorously rubbed their shoes on the mat by the front door. Guests who were leaving earlier in the mornings for flights booked out at the reception desk from about 7am onwards - and you could certainly hear ever word they and the very friendly receptionist said. I did complain at the time but there were no other rooms available.
Most of the other guests were mature, regular visitors who it seemed came every year.
The Scillies are very beautiful, and well worth visiting, we always used Paul Hicks for the boat and island trips, he is extremely good, knowledgable and reliable.

Date of stay July 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Travelled with With Spouse/Partner
Age group 50-64
Member since 13 April 2009
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? No


***Footnote from Daniel***

I have made a Management Response to this review (which should be viewable from Tuesday 28th Sept.), but here is what it will say, followed by a picture of Room 21:

"I am sorry that you feel the need to make an entry on TripAdvisor nearly 3 months after your stay to make a disgruntled review. If I remember correctly, we spoke at the time about your situation; and sadly I was unable to move you to another room for your whole stay, but we could have moved you for 3 nights of the remaining 6, but you declined? The room location was described at the time of booking, as all bookings are. Room 21 is a popular room due to its large size and easy access. Many guests specifically request this room, and in the 4 years since the bedroom has been available, I can only recall one other guest making comment on noise issues. All doors throughout the hotel have door closers on for fire regulations, and even when adjusted to softly close, there is always going to be audible noise from them. Sadly as with all hotels worldwide, people do tend to let doors slam as a matter of course. The beauty of transport links available to and from Scilly means we do however escape the arrivals and departures at all times of the night. I would suggest that 7am for a loud check out with the receptionist would be incorrect do to reception not being open until 8am, as I am both, the receptionist as well as manager. I am assuming you may be refering to our housekeeper who starts work at 7.30am? Noise from the bar should also be minimal due to the location of it in relation to the room, and as mentioned in the review below, it is a quiet bar that is not open to late at night."



It doesn't actually take much to knock your overall scoring on TripAdvisor. This one review has taken quite a chunk out of our overall percentage. You can see the TripAdvisor statistics compared to the other recent reviews. You can see that no ratings were left for Rooms, Service, Cleanliness etc. reducing the overall "Average" score.