Blog Details

We are a 2 star hotel with rooms situated throughout 4 floors. The hotel has no lift due to the grade 2 listed building status meaning we can't make alterations to install one. We will of course, help with luggage though.

Our food is traditional and cooked using fresh produce of fish, meats, vegetables & dairy sourced from Scilly & Cornwall where possible. Our style is not nouvelle cuisine or a fancy Michelin Star type restaurant.

Our experienced staff offer excellent & attentive service, far beyond the normal expectations for a 2 star rated hotel

Our swimming pool is 8 metres x 4 metres and so neither small, or Olympic size! An unusual extra facility compared to even many other hotels. Its size is governed by available space, and is covered in and heated.

Our rooms are comfortable & furnished to the same standard. All are en suite with either bath, shower or both, and some are compact, hence the special offer lower tariff for these.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Hugh Town, at the quieter side and is ideally positioned for easy access to the harbour for inter island boats to the inhabited islands of Tresco, Bryher, St Agnes & St Martins.

I try to post regular photographs of the islands, and you can see more of the hotel in the photo galleries on the right hand side of the page.

If you would like to contact us please feel free to email or telephone: Tel. 01720 422575

Saturday, 25 September 2010

Guest Review Extracted from TripAdvisor

“Dont stay in Room 21”
Bell Rock Hotel

katha53 7 contributions cheshire
23 Sep 2010 | Trip type: Couples

I felt our stay at this hotel was not perhaps the same experience that other people had.
We unfortunately were allocated room 21 in this hotel, which is right by the front door, reception and across the corridor from the albeit closed door of the bar.

It was raining on the day of our arrival and everybody who came in through the front door let it go and then vigorously rubbed their shoes on the mat by the front door. Guests who were leaving earlier in the mornings for flights booked out at the reception desk from about 7am onwards - and you could certainly hear ever word they and the very friendly receptionist said. I did complain at the time but there were no other rooms available.
Most of the other guests were mature, regular visitors who it seemed came every year.
The Scillies are very beautiful, and well worth visiting, we always used Paul Hicks for the boat and island trips, he is extremely good, knowledgable and reliable.

Date of stay July 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Travelled with With Spouse/Partner
Age group 50-64
Member since 13 April 2009
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? No

***Footnote from Daniel***

I have made a Management Response to this review (which should be viewable from Tuesday 28th Sept.), but here is what it will say, followed by a picture of Room 21:

"I am sorry that you feel the need to make an entry on TripAdvisor nearly 3 months after your stay to make a disgruntled review. If I remember correctly, we spoke at the time about your situation; and sadly I was unable to move you to another room for your whole stay, but we could have moved you for 3 nights of the remaining 6, but you declined? The room location was described at the time of booking, as all bookings are. Room 21 is a popular room due to its large size and easy access. Many guests specifically request this room, and in the 4 years since the bedroom has been available, I can only recall one other guest making comment on noise issues. All doors throughout the hotel have door closers on for fire regulations, and even when adjusted to softly close, there is always going to be audible noise from them. Sadly as with all hotels worldwide, people do tend to let doors slam as a matter of course. The beauty of transport links available to and from Scilly means we do however escape the arrivals and departures at all times of the night. I would suggest that 7am for a loud check out with the receptionist would be incorrect do to reception not being open until 8am, as I am both, the receptionist as well as manager. I am assuming you may be refering to our housekeeper who starts work at 7.30am? Noise from the bar should also be minimal due to the location of it in relation to the room, and as mentioned in the review below, it is a quiet bar that is not open to late at night."

It doesn't actually take much to knock your overall scoring on TripAdvisor. This one review has taken quite a chunk out of our overall percentage. You can see the TripAdvisor statistics compared to the other recent reviews. You can see that no ratings were left for Rooms, Service, Cleanliness etc. reducing the overall "Average" score.

Wednesday, 22 September 2010

Guest Review Extracted From TripAdvisor

“Five star service, food and comfort”
Bell Rock Hotel

HelenKent10 11 contributions South East
21 Sep 2010 | Trip type: Family

We were made very welcome at the Bell Rock Hotel. The service was faultless with great attention to detail. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The food was wonderful, served on heated plates and meals all arriving together for the three of us, even if we had all ordered something different. Every night there was a wide menu choice. Very impressive! Comfort and cleanliness of the hotel again could not be faulted. There is a small heated indoor pool which we had all to ourselves, which is open from 8.00 am to 6.00 pm. The hotel was full of guests who were back for their umpteenth stay there, which speaks for itself. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, albeit with slightly old-fashioned decor, but this adds to the charm of the hotel. The hotel is shown as 2-star, but the service is 5-star. (I assume they are 2-star because of factors such as disabled access, which is limited, as there is no lift and there are steps up to the hotel and down to the restaurant.). I also would not recommend taking older children and especially not teenagers, as there is nothing in the way of entertainment for them. The hotel bar and lounge also closed early (10.30 pm) and all guests seem to retire to their rooms around 9.00 - 9.30 ish! However, to be fair, this was probably due to the time of year (out of school hols) and guests were at the mature end of the scale, so that there was a lack of demand for the bar to remain open longer.

Date of stay September 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Travelled with Extended Family
Member since 10 May 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

***Footnote from Daniel***
We are really pleased that everthing was ok, and that we were able to look after our guests to our usual high standard. The bar is licensed to be open until 11pm, but as you have noticed, there is not much demand for this. Therefore, if there is no one using the bar, it will close around 10.30 - 10.45pm. As pointed out in the review, many leave the bar around 9.30pm to settle for the night in their rooms.

Monday, 20 September 2010

Guest Review Extracted From TripAdvisor

“Couldn't be faulted”
Bell Rock Hotel

KelMScot 2 contributions Cheshire
19 Sep 2010 | Trip type: Couples

We spent a week (DB&B) at the Bell Rock and were delighted by the location, service and food. The staff were unfailingly cheerful and helpful. The menu provided plenty of choice (particularly with desserts) and there were even hot puddings! Meals were excellently prepared and served, and it was easily possible to have an evening meal in time to join the following boats for gig racing. We would also recommend the day trips on 'Crusader' with Paul Hicks, who takes bookings at breakfast time.

Date of stay August 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Travelled with With Spouse/Partner
Member since 24 May 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

Guest Review Extracted From TripAdvisor

“Great hotel for a family holiday”
Bell Rock Hotel

Truro, United Kingdom
18 Sep 2010 | Trip type: Family

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bell Rock Hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The children particularly enjoyed the swimming pool. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay August 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Travelled with Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

Wednesday, 15 September 2010

Guest Email of Thanks

----- Original Message -----
From: Jacqueline Lowe
To: 'Bell Rock Hotel'
Sent: Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:55 AM
Subject: Thanks

Wednesday 15th Sept.

Dear Mr. Lawson and Staff,

Just to thank everyone at Bell Rock Hotel for making our first visit to the Isles of Scilly such an enjoyable experience. You are worth four stars for the food alone, not to mention the care, cheerfulness and professionalism shown by all the staff! We hope to return to your beautiful islands in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards

Mrs. J Lowe & Mrs D Down.

Monday, 13 September 2010

Guest Review Extracted From TripAdvisor

“The most relaxing stay!”
Bell Rock Hotel

TINKS01, United Kingdom
10 Sep 2010 | Trip type: Couples

We had such a lovely stay at the Bell Rock. All the staff were so warm and welcoming, we appreciated everything they did for us.

Date of stay August 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Travelled with With Spouse/Partner
Member since 24 June 2008
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes